KHSAA Special Board Meeting

March 17, 2017 at 8:30 AM KHSAA Special Board Meeting, Thoroughbred Room 1, Lexington Center, Lexington

Attendance Taken at 8:30 AM:

Present Board Members: John Barnes, Darrell Billings, Carrell Boyd, Donna Bumps, Mike Deaton, Mark Evans, Pete Galloway, Scott Hawkins, Scott Lewis, Marlon Miller, Chris O'Hearn, Kim Parker-Brown, Gwen Saylor, Jeff Saylor, Henry Webb, Jerry Wyman. Absent Board Members: Debbie Beichler, Mike Clines.

KHSAA Staff: Julian Tackett, Joe Angolia, Michael Barren, Darren Bilberry, Sarah Bridenbaugh, Rob Catron, Chad Collins, Butch Cope, Leah Little and Marilyn Mitchell.

Call to Order

President Scott Hawkins called the March 17, 2017 Special Board of Control Meeting to Order.

Closed Session to Review Legal Matters per KRS 61.810 (**)

Motion Passed: To go into closed session per KRS 61.810 (**) passed with a motion by Mike Deaton and a second by Kim Parker-Brown. John Barnes Yes, Debbie Beichler Absent, Darrell Billings Yes, Carrell Boyd Yes, Donna Bumps Yes, Mike Clines Absent, Mike Deaton Yes, Mark Evans Yes, Pete Galloway Yes, Scott Hawkins Yes, Scott Lewis Yes, Marlon Miller Yes, Chris O'Hearn Yes, Kim Parker-Brown Yes, Gwen Saylor Yes, Jeff Saylor Yes, Henry Webb Yes, Jerry Wyman Yes.

Current Operations and Investigations

Motion Passed: To come out of closed session per KRS 61.810 (**) passed with a motion by Pete Galloway and a second by Donna Bumps. John Barnes Yes, Debbie Beichler Absent, Darrell Billings Yes, Carrell Boyd Yes, Donna Bumps Yes, Mike Clines Absent, Mike Deaton Yes, Mark Evans Yes, Pete Galloway Yes, Scott Hawkins Yes, Scott Lewis Yes, Marlon Miller Yes, Chris O'Hearn Yes, Kim Parker-Brown Yes, Gwen Saylor Yes, Jeff Saylor Yes, Henry Webb Yes, Jerry Wyman Yes.

There was no action taken during closed session.

Report on Action of the Kentucky General Assembly

Commissioner Tackett provided an update on recent General Assembly actions including HB520 and a variety of other Legislative items.

Election of President-Elect, 2017-2018

Nominations were taken for the position of President Elect for the 2017-2018 school year.

Motion Passed: To elect Donna Bumps as President Elect passed with a motion by Henry Webb and a second by Pete Galloway. John Barnes Yes, Debbie Beichler Absent, Darrell Billings Yes, Carrell Boyd Yes, Donna Bumps Yes, Mike Clines Absent, Mike Deaton Yes, Mark Evans Yes, Pete Galloway Yes, Scott Hawkins Yes, Scott Lewis Yes, Marlon Miller Yes, Chris O'Hearn Yes, Kim Parker-Brown Yes, Gwen Saylor Yes, Jeff Saylor Yes, Henry Webb Yes, Jerry Wyman Yes.

Adjourn

BOC Mee	ting Minu	tes – Ma	rch, 2017
Page 2	•		

Motion Passed: To adjourn passed with a motion by Kim Parker-Brown and a second by Chris O'Hearn. John Barnes Yes, Debbie Beichler Absent, Darrell Billings Yes, Carrell Boyd Yes, Donna Bumps Yes, Mike Clines Absent, Mike Deaton Yes, Mark Evans Yes, Pete Galloway Yes, Scott Hawkins Yes, Scott Lewis Yes, Marlon Miller Yes, Chris O'Hearn Yes, Kim Parker-Brown Yes, Gwen Saylor Yes, Jeff Saylor Yes, Henry Webb Yes, Jerry Wyman Yes.

Scott Hawkins, President	Date	